Alysha's Second Life

Where Fashion Is Too Good To Be An Obsession

*ring ring* Hello? Customer Service?

Ok, I need a few ounces of internet space to vent.  And maybe someone can help me while I’m at it.

I went to a store.  They had stuff on sale.  I purchased it.  I went home.

Upon attempting to open my package, I found I only had one piece.  Ah, wait.   Let me help you.  I bought a pair of boots.  Better?  Ok, continuing.  So I found I had a boot.  One boot.  The left one, I think.  Now, I know I didn’t just buy one boot.  How silly would that be??

I did my research and found that this designer prefers customer service issues via email.  Ok, no problem.  I emailed a nice letter, not nasty in any way, just asking for help.  Wait a few days.  No response.  Oook…. Took a copy of the email, pasted it in a notecard, and dropped it in that person’s profile.  Not sure if they picked it up as I never got a message from SL saying they did.  Waited a few more days.  Still nothing.  Same notecard, dropped it on the other person in charge of the store.  Few more days.  Still nothing.  Resent the email with just a friendly “hey, in case this got lost…”.  Few more days.  Still nothing.

Now I’m out of options.  Well, that’s not true.  I have options.  I’m just choosing not to go down that road at this point.  I’ve shelled out some Lindens for a product that frankly I can’t use.

Is it me?  I was not nasty at all in any of my communications.  I just want someone to acknowledge that they got the note and that they either can help me or just tell me I’m S.O.L.  Then at least I’ll know what my next move is.

Content creators:  give me your opinion.  Did I do something wrong?  Did I miss a step?  I’m just so lost and dumbfounded at the lack of response that I just don’t know what to do.  I know these two designers have been online and in-world because I’m getting group messages and they have been updating their blog.  So it’s not that.

Anyone else out there want to shed some light?  Is it just me with this problem?

Amazingly lost and confused,
~*~ Aly ~*~

February 11, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

19 Comments »

  1. I think I would try once more to do the ingame note card thing, over all I think you’ve done everything you can and have tried numerous ways to contact not one, but both of the shop owners.

    I like to give people the benefit of the doubt I guess, maybe too much sometimes, but try once more to send it, and if they still did not reply by giving you a full set of the boots you already paid for.(btw go back in your purchases history and get the details of you having actually made the purchase) and send that as well.

    If still no reply. Blast them. There is no reason for that sort of treatment and if they are going to let this slide, and ignore the issue of missing pieces, then they deserve the bad ‘review’ of a very important aspect of their business

    Comment by Valrny Vandeverre | February 11, 2008

  2. Nope – you didn’t do anything wrong. I think the juxt of the problem with most content creators is that this is just a part-time job or it’s just a hobby, so that could be why a lot never respond. Not that an item missing from a sale is a minor issue, it is a major issue to you, just not to them. I personally try to respond to customers requests or problems as soon as I know about them. I provide my email in my notecard with purchases and I have a notecard dropbox, still being that I work full-time and have a life outside of SL sometimes I don’t get back to people immediately. That being said I think that anything over 72 hours merits a free gift and a heartfelt apology. If there is one thing that SL content providers do the same as RL – it’s customer service. I would try one more time to contact them – this time send an email, IM and drop a note.

    Comment by Sioxie Legend | February 11, 2008

  3. Thank you for the suggestions Valrny and Sioxie!! It helps me a lot and reassures me that I’m not completely insane in my thinking.

    Comment by alyshassl | February 11, 2008

  4. I don’t think you did anything wrong. But please bear in mind that RL sometimes interferes with a person’s ability to log in and deal with customer service issues. The person might be out due to health reasons, or internet outage, or be on vacation, etc. I think even those of us who see SL as a business prioritize it behind RL (at least most of the time). I would just keep dropping notecards and hope for the best, but if you never hear back (and don’t know for a fact that the person has been back in-world) consider the possibility that they have a legitimate reason that they can’t respond, and not just that they are unethical.

    Comment by Britneyj Crimson | February 11, 2008

  5. You are absolutely right Britneyj. I really don’t know. And I know that RL always comes first. That’s why I’ve just been trying every avenue. Thank you for the additional insight! :o)

    Comment by alyshassl | February 11, 2008

  6. I had the *exact* same problem with what sounds like the same boots/boot/bit of boot and the lack of communications! This was 2-3 weeks ago and I haven’t heard a thing, despite emailing, IMing and notecardig. Like you I was starting to think ‘oh well’…
    Having read this I’ll keep dropping notes on the creator and see what happens.
    Hopefully if there are more of us doing usd they might take notice? Fingers crossed…

    Comment by Eremia Woodbury | February 11, 2008

  7. I’m having a similar issue (possibly even with the same store, given the instructions to use email) that I been trying to sort out. Over the last few months, I’ve sent three or four polite emails and also tried the notecard route once, but no response.

    I do know the person has been around because the notecard was accepted, group updates have been sent and new items added to the store. However, since I did get a previous customer service issue resolved promptly (before they switched to email), I have been hesitant to do anything other than send another email now and then.

    Its definitely an awkward situation.

    Comment by Freyja Nemeth | February 11, 2008

  8. If the place in question is the same place Freyja had experience with, maybe the email address they’re using for customer service has a bad server and they aren’t receiving it, and they are ignoring notecards because they specifically requested you use email. Just a thought.. I know sometimes the email I have set up for my store is *annoyingly* slow, like three or four days behind (luckily, it isn’t the route I use for customer service :P)! Anyway, just a thought. Maybe someone could try to catch one of them online and give a heads up or something! Good luck 🙂

    Comment by Maegen Parvenu | February 11, 2008

  9. It’s a good point, Maegen. However, when I had another issue with something I bought from the same store (I know, I sound like customer-from-hell but that time was due to SL borkiness) I only got a response after IMing, despite 2 emails weeks apart. I’ll keep trying every avenue tho 🙂

    Comment by Eremia Woodbury | February 11, 2008

  10. I bought a pair of boots on sale recently and only received the left boot! SO it must be from the same store…I thought I had deleted it on accident or had gone mad! haha I am glad I am not alone.

    Comment by Key | February 11, 2008

  11. It could be the email that’s the issue, but gmail is usually decent and I also sent from several different emails, in case it was a problem on my end.

    Even though I like their products a lot and still get some things, it makes me vary of getting anything more expensive there.

    I am glad to hear its probably not just me, though. I worried I had done something wrong myself.

    Comment by Freyja Nemeth | February 11, 2008

  12. I think I know exactly what shop you are talking about because the same thing happened to me with a pair of shoes. I sent an email — nothing back but I didn’t try again. I ended up buying the shoes on rez (they were on sale and I thought I really wanted them so I paid again) and I got everything that time.

    However, once I got them on and really looked at them (and not just the demo) I wish I hadn’t bought them at all.

    But I have to say that it’s definitely made me lukewarm to the shop.

    Comment by Beatrix Noel | February 11, 2008

  13. Man, that really sucks. :\ The creator might be on vacation, or at school, or any number of things — you’ll have to be patient. :\

    Comment by Tenshi Vielle | February 11, 2008

  14. Same thing happened to me, I bought 3 pairs of boots and only got the left foot of each. I’m sure its the same store, she is a well known designer and I love her stuff but until this is resolved I will not buy from her.

    I have sent the email and followed up with an IM, I haven’t sent a notecard yet but will do that today. I’m sure she is swamped with emails, IM’s and notecards so it may take awhile to hear back from her.

    I agree that RL comes first, but my RL money has been spent on the Lindens to purchase these items, and the $L that the content creators earn is converted to Real US$, so this is regarding RL too.

    Comment by Kaiti | February 11, 2008

  15. I had a similar issue, not with boots however. I only received one part of an outfit that should have contained four parts. I had to IM the designer twice over the span of about five days before she finally got back to me (yes she had been online between my first and second IM, otherwise I probably would have waited awhile to send a second).

    I guess persistence is the key, keep trying. I find it hard to believe that any decent designer would deliberately ignore a customer so either she’s swamped and keeps forgetting or she’s not getting the messages in the first place.

    Comment by Tracy | February 11, 2008

  16. OK people.. cough up the name before I go and get the same thing! I mean.. if people are REGULARLY buying these items and only getting ONE boot in the pair.. I think we have a right to know..

    Comment by Rowan Carroll | February 12, 2008

  17. Wow, I go to sleep and wake up to find this is still a hot topic! Nice to know I’m not the only one. Bottom line is (me personally) I will try the email/notecard/IM route a little while longer. After that, I may have to refrain from spending Lindens (purchased with RL money) in this store and just deal with the group freebies.

    However, to be fair, I will not post the name of the designer here as I want to be fair and not bash without purpose.

    Rowan, if you would like to know, contact me in-world (Alysha Rennahan).

    Thank you all!!!

    Comment by alyshassl | February 12, 2008

  18. Same thing happened to me. Bought a pair of boots on sale and only received one boot. Sent notecard, sent email twice, no response. It’s been 3 weeks already, I think.

    Comment by Quaintly Questi | February 13, 2008

  19. Hi!,

    Comment by name | September 1, 2008


Leave a Reply

