Alysha's Second Life

Where Fashion Is Too Good To Be An Obsession

OPINION POLL OF THE WEEK: Laggy Stores

So during my 6AM drive to work this morning (don’t ask…those that know, pity me please), I was replaying in my head all the wonderful hunts and sales I went to this weekend (thank you to the three ladies that helped me find the three dresses I was missing at Nicky Ree!  You know who you are!).  And I was struck with a thought….and then an idea.

When visiting a store to shop/hunt/peruse/etc., it becomes a bit frustrating when you try to round a corner and get caught in lag city.  Sometimes this is due to too many people in the sim.  Sometimes this is due to too many prims in one location.  Sometimes….it’s just SL.

I have a crappy laptop.  This is well known.  So I cannot truly measure how truly bad lag is in one location.  But when I hear others complain as well, I know I’m not just suffering from a dying laptop.

There are some stores we all love to go to due to the ease of shopping.  There are others where we don’t even try to step foot in the door due to the horrid lag.  Huge sales aside (where we all de-prim down to Ruth to get in the door), when shopping, the last thing we want to deal with is our avs taking 40 seconds to walk forward an inch.

So herein lies the birth of Opinion Poll of the Week.  Cast your vote in the comments and at the end of the week I will post a summary and commentary.  As I am always for helping both shopper and creator, I’m hoping maybe these will help shed some light to store owners on certain topics that will help them moving forward.

This week’s poll has two parts, so please answer both in your comment.  You can also leave reasoning as to your vote.

Poll:
– Where is the best place to shop where lag is very little issue or non-existent?
– Where is the worst place to shop due to prim heavy/people heavy/whatever heavy lag?

I look forward to reading everyone’s votes and comments!

~*~ Aly ~*~

August 11, 2008 - Posted by | Opinion Poll of the Week

2 Comments »

  1. The BEST laggiest place I know to shop that I love and will always return:

    BARE ROSE

    Worst laggiest place: Baiastice

    Comment by Sunshine Kukulcan | August 14, 2008

  2. My store Sn@tch is terribly laggy for some and I know it. It’s a combination of several things though and not completely the fault of the store owner/designer. I do have a lot of high rez images because I would rather sacrifice load times for quality pictures on my ads. After an item has been up for a bit, I will make the image much smaller and replace it. BUT…there is nothing I can do about the quality of your graphics card, your draw distance being set too high or the 30 other people in the store wearing all manner of high prim and highly scripted attachments and accessories. I wish I could. Everywhere you go you are going to have to wait for things your computer has never seen before to load. I think its that we imagine SL like other video games where everything is already pre-rendered and stored in your system. I’m sorry -hangs head- my store is laggish. But I hope its worth it. I appreciate my customers for taking the time and being so patient and sweet. Shouting LAGGGGG doesnt help anyone. Thanks for the opportunity to cast my vote for my own shop lol oh and trust me, turning your draw distance down REALLY does help.

    Comment by Ivey Deschanel | August 15, 2008


Leave a comment